ASAIO Journal

ASAIO Journal Editors, A Link to the Journal, and Journal Information Available Online.
ASAIO Journal Impact Factor = 2.19

Click here to access the ASAIO Journal


Mark S Slaughter, MD
Professor & Chairman
Thoracic & CV Surgery
University of Louisville



Schneditz_b&w (2)
Daniel Schneditz, PhD
Associate Prof of Physiology
Graz, Austria


Michelle Gaffney, Managing Editor
Tel.  443.685.5413

Visit the ASAIO Journal online to view the current issue, Editor’s Pick, most viewed content, online collections including Top Cited papers, ASAIO Conference Abstracts and more.  Sing up for email aleerts or RSS feeds for the online Table of Contents (e-TOC) and Online First (ahead-of-print) postings.

Highlighted Content of 2017:

Extracorporeal Life Support Organization Registry International Report 2016

FDA Benchmark Medical Device Flow Models for CFD Validation (Willem Kolff Top Abstract Award Paper from the 62nd annual ASAIO Conference)

Advancing the Science of Myocardial Recovery with Mechanical Circulatory Support: A Working Group of the National, Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Pediatric Extracorporeal Life Support Organization Registry International Report 2016

ASAIO 63rd Annual Conference Abstracts

28th Annual ELSO Conference Abstracts

Beginning with the November 2017 issue, all Case reports, How to do it articles, and Letters to the Editor will be FREE upon publication. In addition, all ASAIO Journal content is now freely available on the journal website after a one-year embargo period has passed. During the embargo period, only ASAIO members and non-member subscribers to the ASAIO Journal will be able to access the full-text articles.  This new policy will expand the accessibility of the journal while preserving the benefits of ASAIO membership.

ASAIO Journal has been fortunate to experience in an increase in submissions and Impact Factor over the last several years. Dr. Slaughter thanks our authors and reviewers for their significant contributions to the journal!

Follow ASAIO Journal on Social Media!



The ASAIO “Gold Book” is available online: Gold Book.pdf
Published in 2004 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of ASAIO, the “Gold Book” reviews the Society’s history, compiles a bibliography of 120 key articles, and provides 25 annotated reproductions of landmark papers published during the first 50 years of ASAIO.


Section Editors

Adult Circulatory Support:
Jeffrey Morgan, MD, Houston, TX
Pramod Bonde, MD, New Haven, CT

Biohybrid –  William Fissell, MD, Nashville, TN
Bettina Wiegmann, MD, Hannover, Germany

Biomedical Engineering –  William Federspiel, PhD, Pittsburgh, PA
Amy Throckmorton, PhD, Philadelphia, PA

Clinical Cardiovascular:
William Holman, MD, Birmingham, AL
Jonathan Haft, MD, Ann Arbor, MI
Simon Maltais, MD, PhD, Rochester, MN

Clinical Critical Care:
Manuel Herrera-Gutierrez, MD, PhD, Malaga, Spain

Pediatric Circulatory Support:
Robert D.B. Jaquiss, MD, Dallas, TX

ASAIO Project Bionics:
Mark Kurusz, BA, CCP, Austin, TX

Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD, Columbus, OH

Renal/Extracorporeal Blood Treatment:
Daniel Schneditz, PhD, Graz, Austria

Tissue Engineering / Biomaterials:
Jan-Stanley Simoni, DVM, PhD, Lubbock, TX

Special Papers
Michael E Bowdish, MD, Los Angeles, CA
Jason Smith, MD, Seattle, WA
Egemen Tuzun, MD, PhD, College Station, TX

International Consulting Editor
Cristiano Amarelli, MD, Naples, Italy

Editorial Board

  • Stephen Ash, MD
    Lafayette, IN
  • Matthew Bacchetta, MD
    New York, NY
  • Rasheed Balogun, MD
    Charlottesville, VA
  • Carlo Basile, MD
    Acquaviva delle Fonti, Italy
  • Christian Bermudez, MD
    Philadelphia, PA
  • Roberta C Bogaev, MD, FACC, FACP
    Houston, TX
  • Juan Carlos Briceno, PhD
    Bogota, Columbia
  • Daniel Brodie, MD
    New York, NY
  • Daniele Camboni, MD
    Regensburg, Germany
  • Guistina Casagrande, PhD
    Milano, Italy
  • Richard Chan, BS, CCP
    Great Neck, NY
  • Jacques Chanard, MD
    Reims, France
  • John C Chen, MD
    Honolulu, HI
  • Steven A Conrad, MD, PhD
    Shreveport, LA
  • Jennifer Cowger, MD, MS
    Indianapolis, IN
  • Charles S Cox, MD
    Houston, TX
  • Filip De Somer, PhD
    Ghent, Belium
  • Anthony Del Rossi, MD
    Camden, NJ
  • Peter Eckman, MD
    Minneapolis, MN
  • Kiyotaka Fukamachi, MD, PhD
    Cleveland, OH
  • Guruprasad Giridharan, PhD
    Louisville, KY
  • Nicholas Hoenich, PhD
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
  • Zhongping Huang, PhD
    Chester, PA
  • Marina Kameneva, PhD
    Pittsburgh, PA
  • Akira Kawaguchi, MD, PhD
    Kanagawa, Japan
  • Steven Koenig, PhD
    Louisville, KY
  • Brian Letzen, MD, MS
    New Haven, CT
  • Scott Lick, MD
    Tucson, AZ
  • Matthias Loebe, MD, PhD
    Miami, FL
  • Antonio Loforte, MD, PhD
    Bologna, Italy
  • Frantisek Lopot, PhD
    Strahov, Czech Republic
  • Hari Mallidi, MD
    Boston, MA
  • Daniel Marelli, MD, MSc
    Dover, DE
  • Timothy M Maul, PhD
    Orlando, FL
  • Edwin McGee, Jr, MD
    Maywood, IL
  • Timothy W Meyer, MD
    Palo Alto, CA
  • John F Moeller, DDS, MD
    Lubbock, TX
  • Norma J Ofsthun, PhD
    Waltham, MA
  • William Paulson, MD
    Augusta, GA
  • Steven J Phillips, MD
    Urbandale, IA
  • Keshava Rajagopal, MD, PhD
    Houston, TX
  • Olaf Reinhartz, MD
    Stanford, CA
  • Mark Rodefeld, MD
    Indianapolis, IN
  • Gerson Rosenberg, PhD
    Hershey, PA
  • Tim Taber, MD
    Indianapolis, IN
  • John Valdovinos, PhD
    Northridge, CA
  • Joerg Vienken, PhD
    Usingen, Hessen, Germany
  • Dongfang Wang, MD, PhD
    Lexington, KY
  • Jacek Waniewski, PhD
    Warsaw, Poland
  • William J Weiss, PhD
    Hershey, PA
  • Zhongjun Wu, PhD
    Baltimore, MD
  • Lenar Yessayan, MS, MD
    Detroit, MI
  • Statistical Reviewer
    Jaimin Trivedi, MD, MPH
    Louisville, KY
  • ASAIOfyi Member
    Priscilla Petit, BS
    Orlando, FL
  • Social Medial Council
    Velia Marta Antonini, CCN, CCP
    Parma, Italy
    Nandan Kumar Mondal, PhD
    Louisville, KY
    Jaimin Trivedi, MD, MPH
    Louisville, KY


Editors Emeritus:
George Schreiner, MD – Eli Friedman, MD –  Joseph Zwischenberger, MD

Emeritus Editorial Board Member:
Robert Bartlett, MD